Spag Bol and Spartan Training

Doesn’t the smell of bacon sandwiches tempt you? What do you have for Sunday dinner? Don’t you miss spag bol?

I hear these questions more often than any other food related queries. In answer to the first: no. In answer to the second: I have more of everything else – more potatoes, more Yorkshire puds, more veg – all doused in onion gravy. It really works for me. In answer to the third: how can I miss spaghetti bolognese when I can have this spaghetti bolognese?

20120829-150617.jpg

Quorn isn’t everyone’s favourite ingredient. It can be easy to sniff at; there is nothing natural about Quorn, and not everyone wants their food to taste of meat. But I quite like the stuff. Maybe not for your fancy foodie fests, but on a week night, post-gym, when a bit of protein would be welcome, I think it is fab. And anyway, it’s not what you’ve got, it’s what you do with it.

20120829-150758.jpg

20120829-150935.jpg

20120829-151114.jpg

20120829-151304.jpg

INGREDIENTS (serves 3-4):

2 tsp olive oil
2 red onions, diced
1 carrot, peeled and cut into small cubes
1 stick celery, cut into small cubes
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 chilli (optional, I am just obsessed with spice)
3 rashers Quorn bacon (optional, I just had them in my fridge), chopped up
1 packet Quorn mince
1 small glass red wine
125ml vegetable stock
1 tin chopped tomatoes
2 tsp tomato purée
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
2 dried bay leaves

RECIPE:

Heat the oil in a pan, over a medium heat, then add the onion, carrot, celery, garlic and chilli, if using, and cook until softened and slightly browned.

If using the bacon, add this to the pan and cook for five minutes more.

Add the mince to the pan and stir together for a few minutes.

Add the wine and cook off for a couple of minutes.

Add the stock, chopped tomatoes, tomato purée, balsamic vinegar and bay leaves.

Bring the sauce to the boil, then reduce the heat, cover, and leave to gently simmer for about 20 minutes.

In the meantime, cook and drain your chosen pasta (tagliatelle or spaghetti are the most common).

Remove the bay leaves from the sauce, then add the bolognese to the cooked and drained pasta.

Serve with salad, bread, and a large glass of red wine. Lovely.

MY EXPERIENCE:

I am on a health kick at the moment. Well, sort off. I’m on the only kind of health kick that I ever go on, which basically means hitting the gym hard (which I love doing) but making little to no change to my gluttonous eating habits. Oh, and no wine on school nights. Pretty tough.

On this kind of Spartan regime, it’s only a matter of time before I can join this man’s band:

Old Spice Muscle Music from Terry Crews on Vimeo.

2 thoughts on “Spag Bol and Spartan Training

I would love to hear what you think!

