Py+Sausages

mmm...sausages

mmm…sausages

Let’s talk about sausage baby, let’s talk about them and me, let’s talk about all the good ones and the bad one’s there may be. Let’s talk about them.

One of the quirks of January is the plethora of meat alternatives advertised on TV; ne’er a Lewis may pass without being briefed in the health benefits of replacing mince with its meatless sibling. But for some of us these meat-free meals are something more than a January pledge; no matter what you think of ‘meat replacements’, they are often a useful tool for quick suppers and getting some much-needed protein into our veggie bodies.

As a child of eight or nine I had a Saturday job helping my Dad out in his office. This was no slave labour however. I was paid, and I was paid well, in massive, man-v-food type sausage sandwiches. It was the best day of the week. From the thick doorsteps of white bread, to the dripping lake of brown sauce, sausage sandwiches have since been a true love of mine. Not eating meat has not stopped me, but what are the options out there for us veggies? Let’s take a look….

Cauldron Lincolnshire's

Cauldron Lincolnshire Sausages

Cauldron
6 Lincolnshire Vegetarian Sausages
Supermarkets nationwide
£2.30 / 276g (6)

These used to be my go-to sausage. Well-flavoured with a sage and pepper seasoning, these bad boys score highly in terms of taste. It is, however, on texture that these really lose some points. Quite dry and a little odd and bitty, these sausages can hardly be described as succulent. Which is a bit disappointing.

★★★★☆

VegiDeli

VegiDeli Sage and Marjoram Sausages

VegiDeli
Gourmet Meat Free Sage and Marjoram Sausages (vegan)
Holland and Barrett
£2.39 / 295g (12)

Novel in this list in being ready to eat hot or cold, I was excited to give these sausages a go (who doesn’t like the idea of a cold sausage snack-attack?). However I have to say that I really wasn’t impressed. The only word that I could use to describe these sausages is ‘bready’. The have the taste and texture of a cheap, three-day-old loaf. And not in a good way.

★☆☆☆☆

Quorn

Quorn Sausages

Quorn
Sausages
Supermarkets nationwide
£2.40 / 250g (6)

For many this is the classic vegetarian sausage, however, I had always been a very harsh critic. Trying them again for this taste test, however, I was pleasantly surprised. Once cooked these sausages had a good texture, staying nice a succulent on the inside, and they tasted as you would expect. My only issue with these sausages is that they simply don’t excite me. In a word, they are bland.

★★★☆☆

Linda McCartney

Linda McCartney Sausages

Linda McCartney
Vegetarian Sausages (vegan)
Supermarkets nationwide (freezer section)
£2.09 / 300g (6)

I hated these sausages. Salty and dry with a distinctive aftertaste of burnt barbecue, these were the worst of the bunch. Whilst they are vegan, purse and freezer friendly, they certainly aren’t taste-bud friendly. Stay away.

★☆☆☆☆

Quorn Chef's Selection

Quorn Chef’s Selection Sausages

Quorn
Chef’s Selection Wild Garlic & Parsley Sausages
Supermarkets nationwide
£2.49 / 240g (4)

The most expensive sausages in the test, and with only four sausages per packet, these had to perform well. And they did. Succulent, juicy, full of flavour, and well seasoned, these are the veggies sausages of my dreams. Rather than seeming to mimic the cheapest sausages on the shelf, these veggie alternatives are more akin to the more expensive, gourmet sausages in the meat market. My new Saturday treat.

★★★★★

So there you have it, my take on veggie sausages. What do you think? Love or loath these meat alternatives? Agree or disagree with my reviews? Mr Py himself, my fellow taste tester, actually rates the Linda McCartney offering quite highly, so I would love to hear any other views on them!

That’s all for now,

Py x

2 thoughts on “Py+Sausages

  1. I agree with you on the Linda McCartney ones, they are awful! Back in the 90’s the range was really nice but these days there isn’t a single thing I like.

    • I am so glad that you do! Everybody else has strongly disagreed with my take on them! I haven’t tried much from the range, but might have to, just to check it out. Do you agree with my favourites?

I would love to hear what you think!

